ANTI-RACISM PLEDGE 2020 For Schools and Colleges in Leicester and Leicestershire

Dear Colleagues,

We understand this is a highly challenging time for schools, but believe it is crucial that we as educators and people with an interest in the education and welfare of young people, take leadership at this moment to challenge racism and work towards racial justice.

As such, we are asking for you to support our Anti-Racism Pledge for Schools and Colleges in Leicester.

By signing the attached pledge and positively upholding the five key actions, you will be showing your support and commitment towards ensuring all our children and young people can be proud of attending Anti-Racist Schools.

We acknowledge that these actions are just the first step in a dialogue and if significant changes are to happen it will require commitment, but we want to assure you that resources and support will be available from the Stephen Lawrence Research Centre as well as other organisations supporting this initiative.

We hope you will agree with the necessity of signing the Anti-Racism Pledge and look forward to hearing from you.

Thank you

Claudia Webbe MP Leicester East The Stephen Lawrence Research Centre at DMU Prof Surinder Sharma Co-Director at DICE Prof John Williams Co-Director at DICE The Race Equality Centre Dr Iris Lightfoote - CEO at TREC Black Bloom (BLM Leicester) Lara Husain Co-Founder Leicester Against Racism Stefan Turner Co-founder Leicester against Racism Cllr Dr Deborah Sangster Cllr Vijay Singh Riyait Monica Hingorani - Parent & Educator Ruth Sinhal – Educational Consultant

Linda Bradshaw - Lead Practitioner in RS and T&L at The City of Leicester College Natasha Boyce - Associate Senior Leader & Head of RS at LiFE MAT Julie Walters-Nisbett - Vice- President Leicester City NEU, Science Teacher City of Leicester College. Yasmin Musse – Teacher of English at Judgemeadow Community college Luke Whitney - Head Teacher of Mayflower **Primary School** Denham Kite – Principal at Krishna Avanti Primary School